Reservation Service TEL:02-6636-9060 | Reservation Service Time Monday to Friday / 8:00AM~5:00PM
About Childhood Cancer2019-12-03T10:25:40+00:00

About Childhood Cancer

Common Presenting Symptoms & Signs
If you or your families have the following situations, we suggest that you seek help by a pediatric oncologist as soon as possible:

  • Unexplained, severe pain

  • Lump in the body or limbs

  • Unexplained paleness and loss of energy (anemia)

  • Limping

  • Sudden eye or vision changes

  • Unexplained lymph node enlargement
  • Unexplained fever for > 1 week
  • Easy bruising
  • Frequent headaches, often with vomiting
  • Abnormal white reflection from eye

When to See a Pediatric Oncologist?
Pediatric Oncologists are specialists taking care of children with cancers, brain tumors and leukemia. We recommend that the child be seen by a Pediatric Oncologist
when a child shows any common presenting symptom or sign of cancer, or
when anytime there is a concern that there may be a cancer, brain tumor or leukemia in a child

Refer a patient

What is Childhood Cancer?

Cancer is a group of diseases involving abnormal cell growth with the potential to invade or spread to other parts of the body. Childhood cancers, also called pediatric cancers, are cancers diagnosed in children and adolescents. In Taiwan, more than 500 children are diagnosed with cancer each year.

Cancers in children are different with those occurring in adults. Childhood cancer is also the most common cause of death due to disease in children.

In Taiwan, the top 10 cancer types in children are:

  • Leukemias

  • Lymphomas

  • Neuroblastoma

  • Thyroid cancer and other carcinomas

  • Liver tumors (Hepatoblastoma)
  • Brain tumors

  • Germ cell tumors

  • Soft tissue sarcomas

  • Bone tumors

  • Retinoblastoma

How are children’s tumors treated?

Through modern treatment and care, more than 80% of children with cancer can be cured today. In Taipei Cancer Center, we provide high-quality team care through our Featured Programs. To find the best therapy for children with cancer, we use histology and molecular-driven strategies to give personalized, risk-adapted treatment in a multidisciplinary way.

Effective treatment for childhood cancers usually require a combination of treatment modalities as follow.

  • Surgery:

    When used to treat cancer, surgery is a procedure in which a surgeon removes cancer from your body. Learn the different ways that surgery is used against cancer and what you can expect before, during, and after surgery.

  • Radiation therapy:

    Radiation therapy is a type of cancer treatment that uses high doses of radiation to kill cancer cells and shrink tumors. Learn about the types of radiation, why side effects happen, which ones you might have, and more.

  • Chemotherapy:

    Chemotherapy is a type of cancer treatment that uses drugs to kill cancer cells.

In addition to the traditional treatments described above, some specific cancers need to be combined with the following special therapies to improve the treatment:

  • Stem Cell Transplant :

    Patients are required to receive high doses of Stem cell transplants are procedures that restore blood-forming stem cells in cancer patients who have had theirs destroyed by very high doses of chemotherapy or radiation therapy. Learn about the types of transplants, side effects that may occur, and how stem cell transplants are used in cancer treatment.

  • Immunotherapy to Treat Cancer:

    Immunotherapy is a type of treatment that helps your immune system fight cancer. Get information about the types of immunotherapy and what you can expect during treatment.

  • Targeted Therapy :

    Targeted therapy is a type of cancer treatment that targets the changes in cancer cells that help them grow, divide, and spread. Learn how targeted therapy works against cancer and about common side effects that may occur.

  •  Precision Medicine:

    Precision medicine helps doctors select treatments that are most likely to help patients based on a genetic understanding of their disease. Learn about the role precision medicine plays in cancer treatment, including how genetic changes in a person’s cancer are identified and used to select treatments.

Why do children with cancer need to be tracked for a long time?
Recently, the long-term survival rate of pediatric cancer is close to 80%, but it may still cause delayed effects or “recurrent cancer” due to side effects of tumor or treatment, which may affect long-term health. The Taipei Cancer Center focuses on the unique health needs of child patients after treatment through a long-term follow-up care team. Through multidisciplinary integration and evaluation, care and research, TCC promotes the quality of life and survival of children with cancer after treatment.

Story Sharing of Children Tumor Patients

The two-year-old boy, A, has experienced fever, loss of appetite, and pale face over the past month or so. His mother took him to a hospital in the TMU system. Boy A was very afraid of a strange environment. As soon as a stranger approached him, he began to cry, as if his body was very uncomfortable. After a detailed examination, the doctor discovered that he had severe anemia, and the abdomen was very swollen, and the posterior abdominal wall had a large tumor with a diameter of 10 cm, and some even transferred to the bone. At that time, the boy A’s medical team quickly and in-depth discussions with the Taipei Cancer Center Pediatric Oncology Team, based on the tumor site and clinical features, were considered “neuroblastoma.” The patient is scheduled to undergo surgery and subsequent chemotherapy. The boy A’s mother told the medical staff that it was a correct diagnosis. After starting treatment, the boy’s abdomen was not swollen, and his mood improved.

The three-year-old boy B has been suffered from stuffy nose for several months. At first, the doctor treated the patient as sinusitis, and the effect was not satisfactory. Later, B’s airway obstruction became severe. The doctor found that the nasopharynx deep in the back of the nose had a tumor of five centimeters, which hindered breathing. The slice at that time was diagnosed as “Rhabdomyosarcoma”. After B passed standard chemotherapy, the tumor was significantly reduced. However, due to the deep location of the tumor, it was still impossible to perform the surgery for complete resection. The medical team then recommended local radiation therapy (electrotherapy). However, parents of B are concerned about the risk of radiation therapy and consulted the Taipei Cancer Center for a second opinion.
Although children exposed to excessive radiation may affect growth and health, on the other hand, for many cancers, radiation is still the most effective weapon. Through the contact of Navigator Nurse, the TMU team judged that the case of rhabdomyosarcoma was at a high-risk site and could not be removed after chemotherapy, and should be treated with radiation. Therefore, parents of B are encouraged to aim at the cure of B’s disease completely, and to face the electrotherapy and related side effects.

Boy C, who lives in Zhonghe, grows in a single-parent family. In the last semester of his junior high school, his mother found that he seemed to be getting thinner and thinner, and he was prone to fatigue while his cold could not be cured for a long time. Under the help of social workers and the team of doctors at Shuanghe Hospital, Boy C was found to have “malignant lymphoma.” After the operation, Boy C went through a series of chemotherapy treatments, but his condition was unstable and he was once in a worse condition. Finally, the team used high-dose chemotherapy, and Boy C received an autologous hematopoietic stem cell transplant before finally relieving the disease.
Because some of the chemotherapeutic drugs are not in NHI pachage, and the cost of stem cell transplantation and postoperative isolation wards is high, C’s family suddenly faced heavy economic pressure. At that time, Dr. Chen Shuhui actively assisted and asked social workers to help raise funds. With the support of Taiwanese good-hearted people and enterprises, the “Children’s Cancer Patient Protection Project” was established. In this way, it is hoped to take care of the needs of different families, so that patients have more opportunities to choose more expensive but more effective treatment, and also let patients and their families do not give up treatment easily.

In the family’s opinion, the little boy L is a quiet and sweet child. However, before a certain time, he began to complain from time to time that the forehead would hurt. “It is like a hammer knocking.” Sometimes he even couldn’t sleep, and lost sleep until dawn. In addition to annoying headaches, he had often vomited. When the situation was serious, vomiting can occur regardless of whether or not he ate.
At first, he went to a nearby hospital for medical treatment and was diagnosed with common gastroenteritis. However, the effect was not improved after the treatment, and the pineal tumor was found after a computerized tomography scan. Finally, the parents decided to go to TMU for medical treatment. In the subsequent treatment, the boy L has undergone two long-term operations, and the tumor tissue is removed as much as possible under the premise of safety, and then he undergone follow-up radiotherapy and chemotherapy.
The Children’s Brain Tumor Team at the Taipei Cancer Center said that the cause of pineal germ cell tumors is still unknown. Recently, studies have reported that it is related to mutations such as KIT or RAS. But as long as one have the right diagnosis and multi-disciplinary team treatment plan, the effect is usually quite good. In the coming year, little boy L must undergo radiation therapy and multiple chemotherapy. Although the whole course of treatment is long and painful, the prognosis is quite good. He is confident that he can win this war.

Health info

關於兒童腫瘤2019-07-29T20:02:23+00:00

關於兒童癌症

兒童癌症常見徵兆
如果您或家人出現以下情況,建議宜盡快請小兒血液腫瘤科醫師評估:

  • 不明原因劇烈疼痛

  • 身體或四肢出現腫塊

  • 蒼白、虛弱(貧血症狀)

  • 走路不穩

  • 突然出現眼睛或視力變化

  • 不明原因淋巴結腫大

  • 不明原因持續發燒超過1週

  • 容易有瘀血、烏青

  • 經常頭痛甚至伴隨嘔吐

  • 突然出現眼睛或視力變化

何時應看小兒腫瘤科?
小兒腫瘤科醫師是照顧患有癌症、腦瘤和白血病的兒科專家。
當孩子出現可能與兒童癌症有關的徵兆或症狀時,或當家長或照顧者擔心孩子有可能罹患癌症、腦瘤
白血病,我們建議可以尋求小兒腫瘤科醫師評估。
個案轉介

什麼是兒童腫瘤?
癌症是一組涉及細胞異常生長的疾病,可能侵入或擴散到身體的其他部位。 兒童期發生的癌症,也稱為兒童腫瘤,是指在兒童和青少年時期診斷出的癌症。 在臺灣,每年有500多名兒童被診斷出患有兒童腫瘤。
兒童的癌症與成人患者的癌症不同。 兒童期癌症也是兒童因疾病導致死亡的最常見原因。

在臺灣,兒童的十大癌症類型為:

  • 白血病

  • 淋巴瘤

  • 神經母細胞瘤

  • 甲狀腺癌和其他癌症

  • 肝腫瘤(肝母細胞瘤)

  • 腦部腫瘤

  • 生殖細胞腫瘤

  • 軟組織肉瘤

  • 骨腫瘤

  • 視網膜母細胞瘤

如何治療兒童腫瘤?
在現代化的治療照護下,有超過80%的癌症病童可被治癒。 在臺北癌症中心,我們透過特色團隊來提
供高品質的團隊照護。 為了找到適合癌症兒童的最佳治療方法,我們採用以組織學和分子診斷為導向
的治療策略,以多科整合的方式,提供個人化和危險群分類治療。

兒童癌症的有效治療,通常需要結合以下治療方式:

  • 外科手術:

    由外科醫師以開刀或微創手術的方法,將癌症從身體中清除,或是進行切片採樣以進行病理或分子診斷。

  • 放射線治療:

    使用高能量的放射線來殺死癌細胞,並縮小腫瘤的癌症治療方式。

  • 化學治療:

    使用藥物殺死癌細胞、使腫瘤縮小或預防復發。

除了上述傳統治療外,有些特定的癌症需要搭配以下療法,以提高治療效果:

  • 幹細胞移植:

    患者需先接受高劑量的化學治療或放射治療,消滅殘餘的腫瘤細胞,並改變本身骨髓的環境,隨後透過自體或異體幹細胞移植,幫助患者恢復造血功能的過程。

  • 免疫療法:

    免疫療法是促進免疫系統對抗癌症的治療方法,例如兒童淋巴瘤及神經母細胞瘤,使用抗體藥物治療可提升治療成績。

  • 標靶治療:

    針對癌細胞的特殊變化,以藥物抑制腫瘤相關的特定分子,阻止癌細胞生長、分裂或轉移。

  • 精準醫學:

    醫師根據腫瘤基因檢測的結果,協助患者挑選最有可能對病情有幫助的治療方式。

兒童腫瘤為何需要長期追蹤?
近年來,兒癌的長期存活率已接近8成,但治癒後仍可能因腫瘤或治療副作用,產生延遲效應或「二次癌」,進而影響長期健康。臺北癌症中心長期追蹤照護團隊,關注兒癌病童治癒後獨特的健康需求,透過多專科整合評估、照護與研究,促進兒癌病友治癒後生活品質與存活率的最佳化。

兒童腫瘤病童故事

兩歲的A小弟一個多月來反覆發燒、食慾不振、臉色蒼白,媽媽帶他前往北醫體系的醫院就醫。小朋友很怕生,只要陌生人走進就哭鬧,好像身體很不舒服的樣子。經過詳細的檢查,赫然發現他有嚴重貧血現象,肚子很脹,而且後腹壁躲著一顆直徑10公分的大腫瘤,甚至有轉移到骨頭。醫療團隊火速照會了臺北癌症中心小兒腫瘤團隊,經過深入詳細的討論,根據腫瘤部位與臨床特徵研判為「神經母細胞瘤」,旋即安排患者接受手術與後續的化學治療。媽媽對醫護人員說,還好有找到正確的診斷,在開始接受治療之後,小朋友的肚子比較不脹了,心情也變好了。

三歲的B小弟已經鼻塞好幾個月了,起初以鼻竇炎方式治療,效果並不理想。後來呼吸道阻塞變嚴重,結果發現鼻子後方深處的鼻咽部長了一個五公分大的腫瘤,因而阻礙呼吸,切片診斷為「橫紋肌肉瘤」。小朋友經過標準的化學治療後,腫瘤明顯有縮小,但由於位置很深,仍無法開刀切除。這時,醫療團隊建議施以局部放射線治療(電療),但家長擔憂放射線治療的風險,向臺北癌症中心諮詢第二意見。

兒童萬一暴露過多放射線,可能會影響生長發育與健康;但另一方面,對某多癌症而言,放射線依然是最有效的武器。經由領航護理師的居中聯繫,北醫團隊研判個案的橫紋肌肉瘤位於高風險部位,且化療後仍無法切除,應當進行放射線治療。因此,鼓勵家屬以追求疾病完全治癒為目標,勇敢面對電療及相關的副作用。

家住中和的C小弟生長於單親家庭。在國中即將畢業的那學期,媽媽發現他好像越來越瘦,而且容易疲勞,感冒持續許久不癒。在經過社工幫助和雙和醫院醫師團隊的檢查下,發現C小弟患有「惡性淋巴瘤」。在開刀確立之後,C小弟經過一連串的化學治療,但病情起起伏伏,一度狀況不佳,最後採用高劑量化療,並接受自體造血幹細胞移植,才終於讓疾病緩解下來。

在整個治療過程中,由於健保不給付部分的化學治療藥物,以及幹細胞移植與術後隔離病房的高額費用,使家中頓時面臨沉重的經濟壓力。此時陳淑惠醫師積極介入協助,由社工室幫助募款,在我國善心人士與企業的資助下,成立「兒童腫瘤病童守護專案」,可以照顧到不同家庭的需求,有更多機會選擇較昂貴較有效的治療,也不要輕易放棄治療。

在家人眼中,L小弟是個貼心的孩子,不吵不鬧,但卻在一定時間前開始不時地抱怨前額會痛,「就像是鐵錘在敲」,有時甚至痛到睡不著覺,一夜失眠到天亮。除了惱人的頭痛,他還常吐個不停,情況嚴重時,吃了吐,不吃也吐。

起先在附近醫院就醫診斷為普通的腸胃炎,但因治療後效果並沒有改善,緊急做了電腦斷層掃描後發現松果體腫瘤,最後家長決定轉到北醫就醫。在之後的治療中,L小弟就先後接受了兩次長時間的手術,在安全的前提下盡量切除腫瘤組織,進而接受後續的放射線治療及化學治療。

臺北癌症中心兒童腦瘤團隊表示,松果體生殖細胞瘤至今成因不明,最近有研究報告指出與KITRAS等基因突變有關,但只要有了正確的診斷與多專科團隊治療計畫,效果通常相當良好。在未來一年裡,L小弟必須接受放射線治療及多次的化療,整個療程雖然漫長且辛苦,預後卻相當不錯,他有信心可以打贏這場戰爭。

健康資訊